Scientific Advisory Team

Daniel Durrie, MD

Dr. Daniel Durrie, MD, is a board certified ophthalmologist. He is a Clinical Professor and Director of Refractive Surgery Services at the University of Kansas Medical Center, and the Director of the Ophthalmic Refractive Surgery Fellowship program. Dr. Durrie founded the Nebraska Lions Eyebank in 1979 and served as the Medical Director. Dr. Durrie is the Founder and President of Durrie Vision, and has served on the Board of Directors of Eyebank Association of America. Currently, he serves on the board of directors of the International Society of Refractive Surgery. He has participated in over 150 FDA clinical studies and has authored over 150 peer-reviewed scientific journal articles. He received his M.D. and completed his ophthalmology residency at the University of Nebraska, graduating with distinction. He completed a Corneal Fellowship with Filkins Eye Institute in Omaha, Nebraska. Dr. Durrie was named one of the 50 “Most Influential Ophthalmologists in the World” by the Cataract and Refractive Surgery Magazine.

Paul Karpecki, OD, FAAO

Dr. Karpecki is a prominent voice in optometry with over 20 years of experience. Currently he serves as Director of Cornea Services for Kentucky Eye Institute in Lexington KY, The Ocular Surface Disease Center at the Gaddie Eye Centers in Louisville KY as well as an Associate Professor at the Kentucky College of Optometry. In 2016, he was appointed as co-chair of the Tear Film and Ocular Surface Society Symposium in Montpellier, France and served as a member of the Diagnosis Sub-committee for TFOS DEWS II. He is also chief clinical editor and director of clinical content for Review of Optometry, as well as chairman of the New Technology and Treatment Conferences. He serves on the board for the charitable organization Optometry Giving Sight and has delivered over 1,000 lectures and authored over 1,000 papers.  Previously, he served as co-chair for the Dry Eye Summit, Director for the CJO Optometric Dry Eye Guidelines for Eye Care.

Dr. Karpecki earned his doctor of optometry degree from Indiana University. He completed a fellowship in medical cornea and refractive surgery from the Pennsylvania College of Optometry. He was one of two optometrists appointed to the Delphi International Society at Wilmer-Johns Hopkins, which included the top 25 dry eye experts in the world.

Victor Perez, MD

Dr. Perez is a board certified ophthalmologist, professor of Ophthalmology at Duke University and a recognized clinician-scientist investigator.  With over 25 years of professional experience, he has specialized in ocular immunology, uveitis, corneal and external diseases, corneal transplant surgery, ocular surface diseases, keratoprostheses, complex cataracts and intraocular lens implantation. He is also a director of Duke Eye Center’s newly launched Ocular Immunology Center.

Previously he served as a Professor of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and held the Walter G. Ross Chair in Ophthalmic Research. Dr. Perez has been affiliated with companies such as Alcon Laboratories, Bausch & Lomb, Shire Pharmaceuticals, Allergan, Eyedesis Biosciences and OBT Inc. Dr. Perez received his medical degree from University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine. He completed his fellowship in immunology, ocular immunology as well as cornea and uveitis from Harvard Medical School. He is a member of The American Academy of Ophthalmology.