Scientific Advisory Board

Daniel Durrie, MD

Dr. Daniel Durrie, MD, is a board certified ophthalmologist. He is a Clinical Professor and Director of Refractive Surgery Services at the University of Kansas Medical Center, and the Director of the Ophthalmic Refractive Surgery Fellowship program. Dr. Durrie founded the Nebraska Lions Eyebank in 1979 and served as the Medical Director. Dr. Durrie is the Founder and President of Durrie Vision, and has served on the Board of Directors of Eyebank Association of America. Currently, he serves on the board of directors of the International Society of Refractive Surgery. He has participated in over 150 FDA clinical studies and has authored over 150 peer-reviewed scientific journal articles. He received his M.D. and completed his ophthalmology residency at the University of Nebraska, graduating with distinction. He completed a Corneal Fellowship with Filkins Eye Institute in Omaha, Nebraska. Dr. Durrie was named one of the 50 “Most Influential Ophthalmologists in the World” by the Cataract and Refractive Surgery Magazine.

C. Stephen Foster, MD

C. Stephen Foster, MD, is Founder and Director of the Massachusetts Eye Research and Surgery Institute (MERSI), and Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Foster is Founder and President of the Ocular Immunology and Uveitis Foundation. In 1980 he created the Ocular Immunology and Uveitis Service at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and in 1984 founded the Uveitis and Ocular Immunology Fellowship Training Program. He is the author of over 500 publications, has won numerous awards and has been repeatedly listed in America’s Top Doctors and Best Doctors in America. Dr. Foster holds a BS degree in Chemistry from Duke University and a MD from the Duke University School of Medicine.

Randall J Olson, MD

Randall J Olson, MD, is a board certified ophthalmologist specializing in research dealing with intra-ocular lens complications, teleophthalmology and corneal transplantation techniques. Dr. Olson is a Professor, Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences and CEO of the John A. Moran Eye Center at the University of Utah. He is the author of more than 300 publications and served on several editorial boards. Dr. Olson also serves as President of the Chairs of Ophthalmology organization for the United States and Canada. He was selected as one of the 15 best cataract surgeons in the United States by Ophthalmology Times. He received his medical degree from University of Utah School of Medicine and completed his residency in ophthalmology at the University of California – Los Angeles.

Jean-Marie Parel, PhD

Jean-Marie Parel, PhD, is Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of the Ophthalmic Biophysics Center at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute. He also holds an appointment to the Henri and Flore Lesieur Chair in Ophthalmology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and a secondary appointment in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. Dr. Parel’s research interests include developing novel polymers, laser systems, devices for advanced ophthalmic diagnostics and therapy, and the study of optical and mechanical properties of ocular tissues. He is a Board member of Adventus Technology, an Honorary Faculty of Université de Liège School of Medicine (Belgium), and an Honorary Faculty of Université de Paris. Dr. Parel holds a PhD from the Université de Paris.

Michael Raizman, MD

Michael Raizman, MD, is a specialist in laser vision correction and treatment of the cornea with Ophthalmic Consultants of Boston. He is also an Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at Tufts University School of Medicine where he has directed the Corneal Fellowship Training Program. Dr. Raizman has also served on the full-time faculty of Harvard Medical School. He is on the editorial board of the Archives of Ophthalmology and Therapeutic Updat es in Ophthalmology, and is author of over 60 medical articles. Dr. Raizman holds a MD from the University of Michigan Medical School.